Cakes, Eggless

Melting Ice-Cream Cake : Chocolate Chip & Vanilla Flavor

This one is special. I had been wanting to make this cake for a year now. But somehow I stuck to my Tea Cakes. I am not a fan of cream cake.

My Favorites:
Walnut Carrot Cake
Cinnamon Crumb Cake
Vegan Chocolate Cake

But birthdays call for special cakes. This time my Husband’s. He had asked for a pineapple cake but sadly i could not find fresh or canned pineapples nearby. Destiny, I know!

So, I though of doing something else, but sticking to basic flavor.

So I made Eggless Vanilla Sponge Cake. This is a different recipe from what I had shared earlier and the best one tried till date. It has been taken from this very awesome YouTube channel. I replaced cocoa powder with flour & adjusted the measurements for 6″ cake.

Do check out Vanilla Truffle Cake, that I did for my Birthday in Lockdown, May 2020!

About the Cake

It took me 2 days to make this cake. Not that it is a long process, but I had full time office. So I did my sponges and cream on Sunday & assembled the cake on Monday. Birthday was on Tuesday!

It can stay in fridge for 7-10 days.

The sponge is very basic vanilla, the whipped cream frosting is vanilla and strawberry. The layers have chocolate chunks. Topped the cake with chocolate ganache and sugar balls!

Ice Cream Cake

Had I gotten hold of pineapple chunks, I would have sprinkled them in between the layers and used pineapple essence instead of vanilla.

I used strawberry syrup to add pastel pink color and flavor. Mainly I wanted the color, so feel free to use any color for the frosting or keep it white and chocolate. This is a fun cake, so I’d prefer to make it colorful.



That is all about the cake. Let us get into the recipe

Ingredients

Yields two 6″ inch cake

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup condensed milk ~200gm
  • 1 cup oil
  • 1-2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 cup milk
    Frosting 1 for layers
  • 100 gm whipping cream powder (any brand)
  • 100 ml milk
    Frosting 2 for assembled cake
  • 50gm powder
  • 20 ml milk/water
  • 2 tbsp strawberry syrup (Hershey’s or any)
    Decoration
  • 1 empty ice cream cone
  • Cake crumbs
  • Chocolate Ganache (see notes)
  • Sprinkles/Sugar Balls
    Others
  • Sugar Syrup
  • 3-4 tbsp Chocolates chips/chunks
  • Chocolate shavings

Method

  1. Start by making the sponges.
  2. Sift together all dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar
  3. In a bowl, whisk oil and condensed milk till they form smooth batter
  4. Now add vanilla essence and mix well
  5. Gradually add milk and keep whisking
  6. Now add the dry mixture, little at a time and keep folding into the batter
  7. If the batter is too dry, add 1-2 tbsp milk to make it smooth. Do not over mix
  8. Now pour the batter in 2 pans of 6 inch.
  9. Bake for 30-35 minutes
  10. Let them cool on wire rack for an hour.
  11. Refrigerate the cakes overnight. Seal them in cling wrap or airtight container.
  12. Also prepare the whipping cream 1 and keep the bowl in refrigerator, covered.

Ganache

  1. This is quite an elaborate post for Ganache:. Follow the steps.

Assembling the Cake

  1. Start by cutting each cake into 2 equal layers. Be careful to cut even layers
  2. Remove the dome, if any and save for later. If you do not have the dome, cut a thin layer from each cake and save for later
  3. Stack the layers one over the other, keeping the bottom most on top, upside down, to make a flat top
  4. Place the bottom layer on cake table and apply sugar syrup, just enough to soak the layer
  5. Apply frosting on the layer and sprinkle chocolate chunks.
    Tip: Use piping bag, with wide round nozzle.
  6. Take next layer and place it on the first layer, press gently
  7. Repeat the steps for all layers
  8. Crumb coat the cake with thin layer of frosting.
  9. Refrigerate for 1-2 hours
  10. Meanwhile prepare Frosting 2, with pink color or strawberry syrup.
  11. Also prepare the ganache.(See Notes)

Ice Cream Cone

  1. For ice cream, crumble the dome or cake layers that we had set aside.
  2. Add 1-2 tbsp frosting to bind
  3. Now using palms, make a ball, big enough to fit on the ice cream cone.
  4. Let it chill for 1-2 hours
  5. Now coat the ball with chocolate ganache . Keep the cone and cake ball separately
  6. Sprinkle sugar balls on top. Refrigerate

Decorating

  1. Frost the final cake with strawberry frosting (no. 2) and evenly apply on the sides.
  2. Pour Chocolate ganache on top of the cake. You can chose to fill the entire cake top with ganache, or just a portion to give a melted ice cream look. Drip some ganache on the sides too.
  3. I covered half with ganache and half with chocolate shavings
  4. Now sprinkle sugar balls on the ganache
  5. You may also apply sugar balls on the sides of the cake
  6. Place the cake ball on the cake, preferably in the middle. Pour more ganache if needed
  7. Refrigerate till final serving or 1-2 hours atleast
  8. For final serving, dip the cone in ganache and apply little inside the rim of cone,
  9. Place on the cake ball at an angle and push gently. It will fix.
  10. Another way of doing it, is to fill the cone with leftover crumbs, insert a long skewer and fix cake ball on it. Using the same skewer, fix the ice cream cone on the cake.
  11. See this video to understand.
  12. Sprinkle some chocolate shaving and serve chilled!

Notes

  1. I have found BakersWhip powder to be quite tasty. They suggest using equal amount of powder and milk/water to make perfect whipping cream
  2. I have used lesser milk in Frosting 2, as I added strawberry syrup which is a liquid. If you are using color and follow the packet guidelines.
  3. Also I did not cover the top with strawberry frosting as I had to pour chocolate ganache. the measurements are only for the side frosting
  4. Chocolate Ganache recipe in detail. Take equal parts chocolate and cream and melt. You will need 40-50 gm chocolate for this recipe.
Not the best picture. But layers are important

If you liked this recipe, please comment and let me know. Follow my blog for more.
You can also follow me on Instagram @thehungrytrails and tag #thehungrytrails if you try any of these recipes.

I would love to hear from you. Click here to share your feedback or connect with me .

Lots of love and Happy Cooking!

Leave a comment