Appetizers/Snacks

(My Favorite) Cheese Sandwich

I won’t take the credit for this one. I learnt to make this sandwich from a chef’s video based out of London. It was a random video, so I do not remember the name of the chef or the channel that posted it. BUT I LOVED THE RECIPE!!.

I may not be able to copy it to the T, because of variations in ingredients. But, from what I remember I have tried my best. And yes, it does taste out of the world.

If you are a cheese lover, then do give this recipe a try. It is super easy, with very ingredients and super tasty!

Below recipe is for single sandwich, but feel free to double or triple or ….

Disclaimer: I haven’t been able to take a picture if it yet, despite making so many times.
I will come with it soon, promise.

Let’s hog in.

This image is for reference only, taken from Pexels.

Serves: 1

Ingredients

  • 2 bread slices, any
  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • 4-5 tsp butter, soft
  • 1 tsp oil
  • *Mozzarella Cheese, as you like it
  • Salt & pepper, to taste

Method

  1. Caramelize the onions. Add 2 tsp butter & 1 tsp oil in a non-stick pan and add onion slices. Let them cook for 10 minutes. Then set aside.
    Make sure you don’t burn them.
  2. Toast the bread slices lightly on a non-stick tawa or oven
  3. Apply butter on each slice (go heavy on butter, please!)
  4. Grate some cheese on one slices & add caramelized onions.
  5. Sprinkle some salt & pepper, optional
  6. Toast the slices on the pan, till they become crispy and the cheese melts. Press down lightly.
    You can use Grill or Oven for this.
  7. Cut from middle, let the cheese ooze out and serve with ketchup!

Notes

  1. * Mozzarella cheese is the best option in this sandwich but feel free to use your favorite cheese.
  2. If using salted butter, don’t add salt.
  3. Applying lots of butter helps to avoid the soggy bread.
  4. Caramelized onion makes all the difference here. Don’t skip it or try some other recipe!

If you liked this recipe, make sure you follow my blog, for more such creations.
You can also follow me on Instagram @thehungrytrails and tag #thehungrytrails if you try any of these recipes.

I would love to hear from you. Click here to share your feedback or connect with me .

Lots of love and Happy Cooking!

Leave a comment